How Can A Station Create A Chart Using Spinitron?

Hi, newbie here, so this may well be covered elsewhere. But how does a station create it’s own chart using the Spinitron playlist?

Thanks!

1 Like

Hi FlowerPunk I am sure Tom will have a much more complete answer but here is my take:

1. Go to “Reports”, download whatever timeframe your chart is, in whatever your favourite spreadsheet format is.
  2. Work out some spreadsheet magic to add up the number of plays of tracks, 'cause it is hell to do by hand
  3. Share that spreadsheet magic, 'cause it’s hell to do by hand.
  4. Win the admiration and undying gratitude of us all
1 Like

Hi Timothy, thanks for joining the forum.

@Arbie’s answer is 100% valid and may work better for you than mine. Try both.

• Choose Search & chart in the Report menu
  • Choose Search for: Releases (you can try the other options later)
  • Pick a data range
  • Ignore the advanced filters for now
  • Click blue Search button
  • On the right above the table of results, click the Chart link

Next you will be presented with the problems of excluding things you aren’t interested in and correctly counting together artist names and release titles that have been entered as spins differently, e.g. typos and style differences. Fixing this means editing spins.

For users with editor or admin permissions, there are ways to edit spins in this chart feature so that you can in effect combine rows in the chart table but it’s hard to explain these in a forum post. Best to do a zoom call. Please set one up with Eva if you want.

But if you promise to be very careful then …

You are hereby warned that this is confusing, powerful and has no undo feature. You can edit many spins in many playlists at once here with no undo. So fixing mistakes can be time consuming.

Alt/Opt click on a field value (e.g. a release title) in the chart table to edit it. All the spins in all the playlists counted in that chart row will update.